Sangeeth (132) helps Galle make a bold reply | Daily News

Sangeeth (132) helps Galle make a bold reply

Opener Sangeeth Cooray hit a fluent knock of 132 in 207 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes as Galle made a good reply scoring 365  in the first innings in their National Super league cricket fixture against Kandy played at P.Sara Oval grounds yesterday.

After the first wicket fell in the first over (Hashan Dumindu who was out for a duck) Cooray and Lakshan Edirisinghe who scored 70 in 91 balls with 8 fours and 2 sixes added 144 runs for the second wicket to build up the innings.

Experienced Angelo Mathews who scored 44 in 97 balls with 3 fours and a six was out when young leg spinner Wanuja Sahan plucked a return catch. The wicketkeeper-batsman Vishad Randika scored a useful knock of 53 in 68 balls with 5 fours and a six. Kandy paceman Nipun Ransika and former St. Peter's skipper 20-year-old Wanuja Sahan took 3 wickets each.

Kandy made 21 for 1 wicket at close. Meanwhile, Jaffna who was dismissed for 62 in the first innings played much better yesterday scoring 208 for 4 wickets at close in their second innings with openers Navod Paranavithana (64) and Ron Chandraguptha ( 67) making a solid start to put on 115  runs stand in 24.2 overs. Earlier, Dambulla were all out for 213 while skipper Minod Bhanuka ( 67) and Ranitha Liyanarachchi (51). Yasiru Rodrigo the paceman took 3 for 52 while Nipun Malinga, Eshan Malinga and leg spinner Dilum Sudeera took two wickets each for Jaffna. 

*At P.Sara Oval grounds 

Kandy: 290 and 21 for 1 wicket at close (Kasun Vidura 14*)

Galle: 365 (Sangeeth Cooray 132, Lakshan Edirisinghe 70, Angelo Mathews 44, Dhananjaya Lakshan 16, Vishad Randika 53, Ramesh Mendis 10, Mohammed Shiraz 15*, Nipun Ransika 3/85, Wanuja Sahan 3/105)

*At SSC grounds 

Jaffna: 62 and 208 for 4 wickets at close (Navod Paranawithana 64, Ron Chandraguptha 67, Sukitha Manoj 15, Madawa Warnapura 26*, Duvindu Thillekaratne 1/23)

Dambulla: 213 (Minod Bhanuka 67, Ranitha Liyanarachchi 51, Vishwa Fernando 25, Yasiru Rodrigo 3 /52, Nipun Malinga 2/39, Eshan Malinga 2/39, Dilum Sudeera 2/18)

Add new comment