Kandy Sports Club kings of club rugby | Daily News

Kandy Sports Club kings of club rugby

Established in1874 Kandy Sports Club is one of the original rugby clubs of our country. They are a progressive club with a proud history and a brilliant future. This rugby club believes strongly that club rugby is the foundation of a great game.

They have committed to play class rugby in the field. In the early days it was mainly the Kandy school players who played for this club from Trinity, Vidyartha, St. Anthony’s, Kingswood, Dharmaraja, St.Sylvester’s, Sri Rahula some players without playing for the school, some school didn’t have rugger at that time. So the undisputed champions in rugby has been the power house in club rugby scene

This club won the first trophy in 1992 the knock-outs and in 1994 won the league. They have grabbed the knock-out and the league trophy on 21 occasions, highest by any team and the team has created a unique record in club rugby by winning the League for six successive years and 21 times since 1994 and on a few occasions the sevens.

This club which sports Red White and Blue in colour is the most successful team in Sri Lanka Super Rugby history, with highest number of title wins. They have won the league title 21 times since 1994, which is the most wins by any club since the expanded competition commenced in 1950. They have also won the knockouts on same number of years since 1992.

This should be said for the first time Kandy Sports Club entered the final in 1954 under the captaincy of S.B. Pilapitiya and lost to CR & FC in the final,, and once again in the following year 1955 under the captaincy of Jeff Macpherson, in this final too they went down to CR & FCin the final.

Then the next final was after 14 years in 1969 under Denzil Kobbekaduwa here too they went down to CR & FC 6-12. The next was after nine years in 1978 under Irwin Howie and lost to Havelock SC. 4-10 It was in 1991 that the fortunes of Kandy SC changed after the arrival of former Royal College, CR & FC and Sri Lanka President’s XV linkman Malik Samarawickrema. After his arrival in Nittawela helped to establish the game and motivated the Kandy Sports Club side with the support of the then committee to win the first trophy in 1992 the Clifford Cup under stand in captain Maurice Joachim, That year, the league tournament captain was Ananda Kasthuriarachchi, in which they finished in second place, but had to give way for Maurice to lead them to win the Clifford Cup due to a misunderstanding with the then president.

Then they followed by an outstanding performance in 1994 to win the league title for the first time under Indrajith Bandaranayake.

Kandy Sports Club’s rugby is today the number one glamour sport and whenever this club is involved the fans flock to the venues in their thousands to enjoy the thrills and spills that the players provide. Rugby is also known as king in the Kandy’s sports calendar and none can forget the services rendered to the sport by people like Stanley Martin, Colonel Stanley Ratwatte, Chandra Wijenayake, YC Chang, EW Balasuriya, Dr. C D LFernando, Oswin Silva, Dr. S.Nadesen, Dr. John Karunaratne, Dr. Dago Gunawardene, Anuruudha Ratwatte, Dharmasiri Madugalle, Maurice Perera, Meryl “Ford” Gunatlake, Malik Samarawickrema, Kishin Butani, Dr Sarath Kapuwatte, Iswan Omar, Siva Subramanium, Nimal Malagamuwa, Dr. S.Jayakuru, Col. Allen Nugawela, Nimal Lewke, Priyantha Ekanayake, Sarath Perera, C.H. Seneviratne, Sarath Zoysa, Hassan Sinhawansa, Hemaka Amarasuriya, Hemantha Yatawara, Maurice Joachim, Milroy Mendis, Dudley Gunatilake to name a few.

All in all the man behind the success of wining trophies was none other than Malik Samarawickrema. Everyone who supports Kandy SC is proud of the contribution made by him. From the day he chose to promoter ugby at Kandy SC the game has flourished.

He is the man who helped the club win the first ever trophy. Sans Malik Kandy rugby would have been like a carnival without lights. When the history of rugby is recorded at Nittawela,the name of Malik Samarawickrema will stand out as one of the greatest administrators of this sport.

From the cup winning years Kandy Sports Club has had some notable players Some of them were Sri Lanka skipper dynamic Antonian Priyantha Ekanayake, his brother Lakshman Ekanayake, Indrajith Bandaranayake, Leroy Fonseka, Manjula Pathirana, Maurice Joachim, Shyam Sideek, Anil Jayasinghe, Rizvi Suhaib, Inthi Marikar, Lasantha Wijesuriya, Fijians Kitioni Ratrudradra, Bati Penaia, Apisai Nagata, Tony Greanny and Viliame Satala, Achala Perera, Amila Bandara, Ananda Kasthuriarachchi, Anuranga Walpola, Aravinda Udangamuwa, Buddhi Thalagampola, Chamara Withanage, Dharshana Ettipola, Dilip Selvam, Erande Swarnatillake, Fazil Marija, Gayan Ratnage, NalakaWeerakkody, Gayan and Roshan Weeraratne brothers, Haris Omar, Kavinda Jayasena, Imran Bisthamin, Kasun Silva, KasunJayasuriya, Kishore Jehan, Krishantha Rajapakse, Kusal Rankothge, Lalantha Karunatilake, Malinga Godigamuwa, Shehan Pathirana, M.Jabbar, M. Sabry, M. Sheriff, Navinda Pullukuttiarachchi, Niranjan Ranasinghe, Pradeep Basnayake, Pradeep Liyanage, Prasad Chathuranga, Radhika Hettiarachchi,, Sajith Saranga, Saliya Kumara, Sameera Silva, Sanjeewa Jayasinghe, Sean Wijesinghe, Senaka Bandara, Shashika Jayawardene, Nigel Ratwatte, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Tharindu Ratwatte, Arshad Jamaldeen, Lavanga Perera, Kanchana Ramanayake, Richard Dharmapala, Danushka Ranjan, Oshan Perera, Vishwamithra Jayasinghe, Danush Dayan, Asitha Ratnayake, Anruddha Wilwara, Eranda Weerakkody, Thilina Wijesinghe, Buddhima Piyarthna, Buwaneka Udangamuwa, Jason Dissanayake, Yakoob Ali. Some of the key expat players MeliNakauta, Viliame Satala both have represented Fiji in the World Cup in 1999, Manasa Qoro in 1987, while Kitioni Ratudrara and Apisai Nagata have also represented Fiji at the highest level, Some of the coaches who gave a big hand to win trophies were Maurice Perera, Alex Lazarus, Malik Samarawickrema, Priyantha Ekanayake, John Taylor, Tavit Tulagese, Neil Foote, Johan Taylor, Sean Wijesinghe, Fazil Marija, Saliya Kumara and Nalaka Weerakody, These are some of the names which came to my mind.

Add new comment