Newly appointed Finance Minister, Treasury Secretary resign | Daily News

Newly appointed Finance Minister, Treasury Secretary resign

Dr. P. Nandalal Weerasinghe new Governor

Finance Minister Ali Sabry (freshly appointed), Secretary to the Treasury S. R. Attygalle resigned from their respective posts yesterday. Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabraal resigned on Monday.

Attygalle has been on secondment to the Treasury from the Central Bank under multiple governments. There is wide speculation and support amongst the business community that business magnate Dhammika Perera is to be appointed his Secretary.

Deputy Governor Dr. P. Nandalal Weerasinghe who had previously held a stint with the International Monetary Fund will take over the Central Bank. Weerasinghe has indicated to the media that the President has offered him the post and that he has accepted it. Meanwhile, the Central Bank in a release said that the press release on the Monetary Policy Review No. 03 of 2022 scheduled to be released on April 5, has been postponed.

The date of the announcement of the press release and the press conference will be informed in due course.


Add new comment