Dasun Shanaka to lead Sri Lanka in white-ball series in NZ | Daily News

Dasun Shanaka to lead Sri Lanka in white-ball series in NZ

Dushmantha Chameera is out of both Sri Lanka white-ball squads in the forthcoming New Zealand series due to him still recovering from his injury while young Matheesha Pathirana the slinger action paceman was called up for both one-day and T-20 squads. Sri Lanka Cricket officially announced the one-day and T20 squad yesterday. Chameera was picked earlier for both squads subject to providing fitness but he has not fully recovered to play the series.

Dasun Shanaka was once again named the captain of both ODI and T20 teams while Kusal Mendis was named for ODI squad and Wanindu Hasarsnga is named for vice captain of the T 20 side.

Sahan Arachchige, all rounder from NCC has been for the first time selected for the ODI squad while Sadeera Samarawickrma was named for both squads.

The young leg spinner Dunith Wellalage is in both squads while Nuwanindu Fernando the dashing opener was named for ODI squad. The experienced Angelo Mathews has been recalled for the ODI squad.

Sri Lanka White ball players are expected to leave next week while the first ODI will be played on March 25 in Auckland.

Sri Lanka ODI squad

Dasun Shanaka – Captain, Kusal Mendis – (Vice Captain,) Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana

Sri Lanka T20 Squad

Dasun Shanaka – (Captain) , Wanindu Hasaranga –( Vice Captain) Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka

Add new comment